Villarreal Barcelona Real Madrid Celta Vigo Atletico Madrid Valencia Espanyol Deportivo La Coruña Eibar Rayo Vallecano Real Sociedad Las Palmas Sporting Gijon Sevilla Real Betis Malaga Athletic Bilbao Levante Getafe Granada

LFP confirms 2012/2013 La Liga schedule

by Staff Writer | Posted on Wednesday, May 30th, 2012

The 2012/2013 La Liga season will begin the weekend of August 18th & 19th according to an agreement between the board of the first and second division of the Spanish League Football Professionals (LFP).

The season is scheduled to end on June 1st 2013, with the only mid-week match coming in the 37th round on May 29th.

Yet, this is subject to change if a Spanish side was to make it to the Champions League final, scheduled to be played May 25th at Wembley Stadium, would cause the round to be played on May 26th.

However, this schedule did not come without opposition as the players union (AFP) rejected the idea of an August 18th & 19th start in favour of August 25th and 26th.

There is very little chance of a strike over this issue, like the League experienced at the start of the 2011/2012 season.

La Seguna Division will begin on August 18th & 19th as well, but will end on June 9th.

The Spanish Supercup between Real Madrid and Barcelona will be played on August 22nd at the Santiago Bernabeau and August 29th at the Camp Nou.

The Copa del Rey final will be played on May 8th, with an alternative date set for May 18th.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Inside Spanish Football
Translate »