Villarreal Barcelona Real Madrid Celta Vigo Atletico Madrid Valencia Espanyol Deportivo La Coruña Eibar Rayo Vallecano Real Sociedad Las Palmas Sporting Gijon Sevilla Real Betis Malaga Athletic Bilbao Levante Getafe Granada

Cristiano Ronaldo named World Player of the Year

by Tom Conn | Posted on Friday, December 13th, 2013

Real Madrid forward, Cristiano Ronaldo has been named World Player of the Year by football magazine, ‘World Soccer’ beating out Barcelona’s Leo Messi and Bayern Munich’s Franck Ribery, who came in second and third, respectively.

Cristiano Ronaldo

The World Soccer World Player of the Year award almost always mirrors the winner of the Ballon d’Or for that same year, save for 2010, which bodes well for Cristiano.

Journalists from around the world voted in a poll and  Ronaldo, who won the award in 2008 (the same year he won the Ballon d’Or), earned a total of 1,075 votes, 926 ahead of second place Leo Messi and 870 ahead of third place Rbery, the same expected results for the 2013 Ballon d’Or.

The remaining seven finalists featured a heavy dose of the German Bundesliga and was capped off with only one Spaniard, Andres Iniesta, finishing 10th overall.

In the coaches category, former Bayern Munich manager, Jupp Heynckes won the award and was joined by Atletico Madrid’s Diego Simone who finished third and Spanish national team manager, Vicente Del Bosque, who finished fifth.

Atletico Madrid also tied for second as World team of the year, beating out Barcelona and Real Madrid, who didn’t make the list.

The two lists, with breakdown of votes are as follows.

World Soccer’s player of the year

1 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid & Portugal) 1075

2 Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina) 926

3 Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich & France) 870

4 Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris Saint-Germain & Sweden) 658

5 Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich & Holland) 324

6 Neymar (Santos/Barcelona & Brazil) 286

7 Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich & Germany) 255

8 Robin Van Persie (Manchester United & Holland) 251

9 Robert Lewandowski (Borussia Dortmund & Poland) 250

10 Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur/Real Madrid & Wales) 187

11 Radamel Falcao (Atletico Madrid/Monaco & Colombia) 158

12 Andres Iniesta (Barcelona & Spain) 157

13 Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich & Germany) 123

14 Luis Suarez (Liverpool & Uruguay) 101

15 Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich & Germany) 100

16 Andrea Pirlo (Juventus & Italy) 94

17 Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich & Germany) 86

18 Mesut Ozil (Real Madrid/Arsenal & Germany) 78

19 Edinson Cavani (Napoli/Paris Saint-Germain & Uruguay) 65

20 Sergio Aguero (Manchester City & Argentina) 48

30 Ronaldinho (Atletico Mineiro & Brazil) 12

40 Diego Costa (Atlético Madrid & Brazil/Spain) 8


World Manager of the year

1 Jupp Heynckes (Bayern Munich) 86

2 Jurgen Klopp (Borussia Dortmund) 15

3 Diego Simeone (Atlético Madrid) 5

4 Alex Ferguson (Manchester United) 4

5 Vicente Del Bosque (Spain) 2

Pep Guardiola (Bayern Munich) 2

Marcello Lippi (Guangzhou Evergrande) 2

8 Carlos Ancelotti (Paris Saint-Germain/Real Madrid) 1

Antonio Conte (Juventus) 1

Lars Lagerback (Iceland) 1

Safet Susic (Bosnia-Herzegovina) 1

Oscar Tabarez (Uruguay) 1

Arsene Wenger (Arsenal) 1


World team of the year

1 Bayern Munich 118

2 Atletico Madrid 1

Borussia Dortmund 1

Bosnia-Herzegovina 1

Germany 1

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Inside Spanish Football
Translate »